Main Menu
Service Locator
Find services near you
Program Directory
Search for a program
Contact Directory
View department contact info

Catholic Charities Corporation Administrative Offices:

7911 Detroit Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44102

(216) 334-2900


Diocese of Cleveland 2024 CYO Hall of Fame and CYO Recognition Awards

CYO is seeking nominations for the 2024 Diocese of Cleveland CYO HALL OF FAME and the 2024 Diocese of Cleveland CYO RECOGNITION AWARDS. See descriptions below to learn about the qualifications and categories for each award.  

The CYO Recognition Awards event and CYO Hall of Fame Induction celebration will take place on Sunday, September 22, 2024.  

Submit your nominations online below.  Nominations must be submitted to CYO by March 31, 2024.

Hall of Fame and Recognition Awards Nomination

 CYO RECOGNITION AWARD - Nominee must have animated and modeled the CYO Mission and Values while serving in a CYO Member athletic program for a period of ten (10) or more years. Nominees may have served as a CYO Coach, Athletic Director, Clergy Member, Commissioner, Site Director, or any other roles in the CYO community. 

CYO HALL OF FAME - Nominee must have animated and modeled the CYO Mission and Values while making significant contributions to CYO as a player, coach, athletic director, official, professional, clergy member, or member of the CYO community over a period of fifteen (15) or more years.

CYO HALL OF FAME COUPLE AWARD is for couples who have animated and modeled the CYO Mission and Values. They are often the glue that holds together their CYO program as they make sure that all CYO program and administrative details are handled. Couple nominees must have 10 or more years working together in CYO.

CYO HALL OF FAME FAMILY AWARD is for families who have animated and modeled the CYO Mission and Values as a family over multiple (2 or more) generations. CYO is filled with families who live the idea of “paying it forward,” as the next generation stepped up to build the CYO legacy they received as a child. 

CYO Hall Of Fame and Recognition Awards Silent Auction

This event will include an Induction Ceremony, food, drinks, and a new silent auction with proceeds to benefit CYO children and families! We are excited! 

Entry into the CYO Hall of Fame is the highest recognition bestowed upon CYO volunteers and members of the CYO community. 

How You Can Help

We would be honored if you would consider a donation for our silent auction.  We will recognize all donations in our event program and in other event publicity.  Some examples would be:  Create your own gift baskets, Store Gift Cards ($20 or $25 so we can combine them in a gift card tree), Artwork, Hotel Stays, Museum Tickets, Sporting Event Tickets, Sports Memorabilia, Restaurant Gift Certificates, Spa Services, Theater tickets, Weekend Trip, Vacation packages, etc.

Catholic Charities is a registered 501C-3 (Tax ID 34-1318541), and all donations are tax deductible.  If you would like to donate a gift basket or item for a gift basket, completed baskets and items should be sent to Jennifer Cirincione or arranged for a pick up by August 1, 2024.  

Please be sure to complete and return the Donation Form below to us so that we have all of your information correct for our website and listing at the event.  It is important to know that all CYO Hall of Fame proceeds will go directly to the Bishop Roger Gries Good Shepherd Fund. 

Please feel free to contact Jennifer at or 440-477-3524 with additional questions regarding the Silent Auction.  We hope you will consider supporting us with this event!

Silent Auction Letter and Donation Form

Hall of Fame Inductees 


*Frank Casalinuovo, Jane Denton, Terry Flanagan, *Mike Ginley, Chuck Kyle, Frank Svetz, Dale and Cathleen Gaydos, McGannon Family, Williamson Family

Tedd Kwasniak, Nick Crème, Sean Walter, Chris Lachman, Joe Congeni, Ed & Diane Bugner, Mimi Shaughnessy

Most Reverend Roger W. Gries, OSB, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus, Joseph C. Jira, Karl and Jeanne King, Sr. Mary Jean Raymond, Jim Lawless Sr., Most Reverend Anthony M. Pilla, Bishop Emeritus, John Zielinski

Timothy Beringer, Tony Buck, Ken Dworznik, Sue Friedel, Andy Natale

Ralph Bruening, Karol Kaminski Coundourides, Fran Gallagher,
Jerry Hansen, Dave Kirk, Tom Madden

Joe Jurevicius, Oliver Luck, Paul Marshall, Mare Von Lindern, Frank Lewandowski, Jim Burdon, Jim Hurley

Dan Ducic, Will Williams, Sandy Rado, Edward Markowski, Kim Murray, Richard Rinella, Dick Lang

Ray Kling, Michael Cleary, Dan Holloran, Steven Tomko

Karol Patton, Casey Plewacki, Emma Bednar, Joe Olszewski, Denise McDonald-Curry

Robert Anderle, Beverly Gombarcik, Al Hoehn, William E. Mason, Dave Stefanski

Bernie Heneghan, Mike Iacofano, Jim McGeever, Kaz Szczepanik, Richard Wild

Jerry Boron, Dan Ferrazza, Nancy Glass, Pam Nolan, Father James P. O’Donnell

Father James O’Brien, Monsignor Thomas Corrigan, Charles Hoagland, Joseph Raymond, Richard Hyland, Robert Roesky, Leola Wilson, John Abraham, Kevin Leigh

Recognition Award Recipients

The Recognition Award is presented annually. It recognizes individuals who have provided excellent service to CYO Athletics and its participants as a coach, athletic director, clergy, commissioner or other member of the community whose accomplishments deserve to be recognized.

Greg Fitzgerald, Dale Kline, Richard Magovich, Mary McCoy, Fred McElrath, Ed Rockwood

Russell Fischer, Debbie Hall, Kerry Kaminski, Tom Kaim, Carol and Jim Lepi, Jeanne Weber

Anthony Bagliano, T. K. Griffith, Robert Previts, Chris Salata, Scott Slack, Pamela Smrdel, Kim Tuchek, Bobby Walton

Mike Dostal, Karl Horning, Tom Morgan, Dawn Stepic

Bill Trental, Janet Trental, Angelo Gaudino

Timothy Setele, William Kosmac, Art Guhde, Chuck Hill, Antoinette Smith, Annie Kilbane, Daniel Moore, John Peyton, Lorenzo Jones, Gib Winter

Nils Antonio, John Granzier, Angelo Gasparro, Rick Schenkelberg

Tim Ernst, Tom Gentile, Owen Gallagher, Stephanie Toole

Ralp Bruening, Tony Buck, Duane Drotar, George Englehart, Harry Hewitt, Dan Holloran, Joseph Jansky, Joseph Jira, John Lanza, Tim O’Connell

Kevin Smith, William E. Mason, Mary Pat Beaufait, Tim Deininger, Clifford Gulley, Tim Vala, Bob Crowley

Mike DeSantis, Ken Dworznik, Howard Chizek, Jim Farroni, Mike Iacofano, Jim McGeever, Walter Napier, Bill Nortz, Mike Setta, Willie Earl Williams

Henry Mullaney, Donna Busser, Owen Coughlin, Gary Huspaska, Vince Lucarelli, Emma Bednar, Sabrina Wilson, Bev Gombarcik

Catholic Diocese of Cleveland Part of the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland

Share This

Photo Gallery

1 of 22